Jump to content

The Residents - The Ghost Of Hope

   (0 reviews)

Following their long tradition of projects based on narrative themes, The Residents are pleased to announce the release of The Ghost of Hope, an historically accurate album based on train wrecks. Pursuing this theme in both a literal and metaphorical sense, the group discovered a series of vintage news articles highlighting the dangers of train travel in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Inspired by the era's elegant language, the group then contrasted that eloquence against the sheer horror of these devastating events, resulting in an album that sounds both startlingly new and curiously nostalgic. Using the familiar elements of music, spoken voice, sound effects and audio textures, The Residents have constructed a highly original series of tone poems quite unlike the music of anyone else - except, of course, The Residents.

Track Listings:
    1 Horrors Of The Night 7:20
    2 The Crash At Crush 6:47
    3 Death Harvest 7:21
    4 Shroud Of Flames 5:44
    5 The Great Circus Train Wreck Of 1918 6:59
    6 Train Vs Elephant 4:05
    7 Killed At A Crossing 9:02
Artist Name(s):
Nolan Cook - Guitar
Eric Drew Feldman - Instruments [Additional], Computer
Vocals – Carla Fabrizio, Isabelle Barbier, Laurie Hall, Peter Whitehead
Eric Drew Feldman, The Residents
Release Year: 2017
Album Type:
Compact Disc, Digital / Download, LP 33 1/3
Cover & Packge Design:
Poor Know Graphics
Engineer(s): Eric Drew Feldman, Gabriel Shepard
Label / Publishing
Label Name:
MVD Audio, Cherry Red
Catalog Number(s):
MVD9754A, MVD9754A
San Francisco, CA
Cryptic Corporation
Editions / Reissues
  1. Psychofon Records PR 010 Germany 2017
  2. Disk Union MVD-9754AJP Japan 2017
Album Locator
[+] Amazon
[+] Amoeba
[+] Discogs
[+] Google
[+] YouTube

  Report Album

User Feedback

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.


  • Create New...