Jump to content

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine

   0 reviews  -  810 views
    Pretty Hate Machine (also known as Halo 2) is the first studio album by Nine Inch Nails, released on October 20, 1989 by TVT Records and was a huge success. The first single off of the album, Down In It, was released on September 27, 1989. It received radio airplay for the aforementioned single as well as subsequent singles Head Like A Hole and Sin. The former also serves as a companion remix album of sorts to Pretty Hate Machine.

    Working nights at Right Track Studio as a handyman and toilet cleaner, Trent Reznor used studio "down time" to record and develop his own music. Playing most of the keyboards, drum machines, guitars, and samplers himself, he recorded a demo, unofficially titled Purest Feeling. Teaming up with manager John A. Malm, Jr. they sent the demo to various record labels. Reznor received serious offers from many of them. He signed a deal with TVT Records who, until then, were known mainly for releasing novelty and television jingle records.

    Track Listings:
    1. "Head Like A Hole" – 4:59
    2. "Terrible Lie" – 4:38
    3. "Down In It" – 3:46
    4. "Sanctified" – 5:48
    5. "Something I Can Never Have" – 5:54
    6. "Kinda I Want To" – 4:33
    7. "Sin" – 4:06
    8 ."That's What I Get" – 4:30
    9. "The Only Time" – 4:47
    10. "Ringfinger" – 5:40
    Total Time: 48:42
    Artist Name(s):
    Trent Reznor – vocals, arrangement, continuity, digital editing, programming (all tracks)
    Tim Niemi – additional synth programming (tracks 2, 6)
    Richard Patrick – drone guitar at end (track 4)
    Trent Reznor, Flood, Hypo Luxa, Keith LeBlanc, John Fryer
    Release Year: 1989
    EBM, Industrial, Synth-Pop
    Album Type:
    Cassette, Compact Disc, Digital / Download, LP 33 1/3
    Studio Name:
    Blackwing Studios, Roundhouse Studios, The Right Track, Synchro Sound, Unique Recording Studios
    Mastering: Tony Dawsey, Tom baker
    Engineer(s): Trent Reznor, Sean Beavan, Doug De Angelis, Flood, John Fryer, Hypo Luxa, Kennan Keating, Keith LeBlanc, Ken Quartertone, Adrian Sheridan
    Label / Publishing
    Label Name:
    TVT Records
    Catalog Number(s):
    TVT 2610-1
    New York City
    Editions / Reissues
    1. TVT Records, TVT Records TVT 2610-1, TVT 2610 US 1989
    2. Interscope Records, Interscope Records INTD-91834, BMGMD-4510 South Korea 1989
    3. TVT Records, TVT Records 2610-2, TVT 2610 US 1989
    4. TVT Records, TVT Records 2610-2, TVT 2610 US 1989
    5. Interscope Records INTD 91834 Taiwan 1989
    6. TVT Records TVTD 2610 Canada 1989
    Synthesizers Used
    Album Locator
    [+] Amazon
    [+] Amoeba
    [+] Discogs
    [+] Google
    [+] YouTube
    [+] Reverb.com

  Report Album

User Feedback

Create an account or sign in to leave a review

You need to be a member in order to leave a review

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

There are no reviews to display.