Jump to content

Hawkwind - Electric Teepee

   1 review  -  1193 views
    Electric Tepee is the seventeenth studio album by the English space rock group Hawkwind, released in 1992. It spent one week on the UK albums chart at #53. After a European tour in March and April 1991, long-standing keyboardist Harvey Bainbridge chose to leave the group. Female singer Bridget Wishart would also end her association with the group in September. The group would go on to operate as a three piece of guitarist Dave Brock, bassist Alan Davey and drummer Richard Chadwick, making heavy use of sequencers, synthesisers and computers, both in the studio and live.The album was recorded in 1992 at Brock's own Earth Studios, produced with Paul Cobbold. "Mask of the Morning" re-uses the lyrics from "Mirror of Illusion" from the 1970 debut album Hawkwind. "Rites of Netherworld" is a brief keyboard piece based on Igor Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring.
    Track Listings:
    1. LSD (8:14)
    2. Blue Shift (4:20)
    3. Death Of War (4:47)
    4. The Secret Agent (8:11)
    5. Garden Pests (2:09)
    6. Space Dust (5:19)
    7. Snake Dance (3:53)
    8. Mask Of The Morning (8:49)
    9. Rites Of Netherworld (0:36)
    10. Don't Understand (7:04)
    11. Sadness Runs Deep (5:58)
    12. Right To Decide (4:25)
    13. Going To Hawaii (7:35)
    14. Electric Tepee (3:08)
    Total Time: 74:28
    Artist Name(s):
    Dave Brock – electric guitar, keyboards, vocals
    Alan Davey – bass guitar, vocals, keyboards
    Richard Chadwick – drums
    Hawkwind, Paul Cobbold
    Release Year: 1992
    Ambient, Space Rock
    Album Type:
    Cassette, Compact Disc, LP 33 1/3
    Cover & Packge Design:
    Alan Arthurs
    Studio Name:
    Earth Studios
    Engineer(s): Paul Cobbold
    Label / Publishing
    Label Name:
    Griffin Music
    Catalog Number(s):
    GN 0931-2 US1993
    Devon, UK
    Editions / Reissues
    1. ATOMCD 1008 UK 2009
    2. WHD Entertainment, Inc., Atomhenge IECP-10213 Japan 2009
    3. Essential ESS MC 181 UK 1992
    4. Back On Black RCV127LP UK 2014
    5. Griffin Music GN 0931-2 US 1993
    Album Locator
    [+] Amazon
    [+] Amoeba
    [+] Discogs
    [+] Google
    [+] YouTube
    [+] Reverb.com

  Report Album

User Feedback

Create an account or sign in to leave a review

You need to be a member in order to leave a review

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Jack Hertz

Report ·

   1 of 1 member found this review helpful 1 / 1 member

One of my favorite Hawkwind albums. Yeah, its the newer sound. But Dave Brock never sounded better, IMO. A solid trip end to end played by a really good band. I saw them live on this tour, and it was every bit as solid as the album.

Share this review

Link to review