Jump to content

Speak & Spell - Depeche Mode

   0 reviews  -  781 views
    Speak & Spell is the debut studio album by the English electronic band Depeche Mode, released on 5 October 1981 by Mute Records. The album peaked at number 10 in the UK Albums Chart. This is the band's only album with Vince Clarke and as a result, was much lighter in tone than future Depeche Mode albums.

    This was the only Depeche Mode album with Vince Clarke as a member of the band. Clarke wrote most of the songs for the band, before departing to form Yazoo and later Erasure.

    The album is significantly lighter in tone and melody than their later work, a direction which can largely be attributed to Clarke's writing. After he left, Martin Gore took over songwriting duties, writing almost all of the band's material. Later albums written by him would explore darker subjects and melodies.

    The album title alludes to the then-popular "Speak & Spell" electronic toy.

    Track Listings:
    1. "New Life" 3:43
    2. "I Sometimes Wish I Was Dead" 2:16
    3. "Puppets" 3:55
    4. "Boys Say Go!" 3:03
    5. "Nodisco" 4:11
    6. "What's Your Name?" 2:41
    7. "Photographic" 4:44
    8. "Tora! Tora! Tora!" 4:34
    9. "Big Muff" 4:20
    10. "Any Second Now (Voices)" 2:35
    11. "Just Can't Get Enough" 3:40
    Total Time: 44:58
    Artist Name(s):
    Dave Gahan - lead vocals
    Martin Gore - keyboards, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Photographic" and "Any Second Now (Voices)"
    Andy Fletcher - keyboards, backing vocals
    Vince Clarke - keyboards, programming, backing vocals, drum machine
    Depeche Mode, Daniel Miller
    Release Year: 1981
    Album Type:
    Cassette, Compact Disc, Digital / Download, LP 33 1/3
    Cover & Packge Design:
    Brian Griffin
    Studio Name:
    Blackwing Studios
    Engineer(s): John Frye, Eric Radcliffe
    Label / Publishing
    Label Name:
    Mute Recxords
    Catalog Number(s):
    DM LP1
    London, England
    Editions / Reissues
    1. Mute STUMM 5
    2. Mute DM LP 1
    3. BMG / Music On Vinyl MOVLP948 / 8718469534371
    4. Mute C STUMM 5
    5. Mute CDX STUMM 5
    6. Mute DM CD 1
    7. Sire SRK 3642
    8. Sire / Reprise / Rhino 1-234236
    9. Rhino 1-234236
    10. Sire M5S 3642
    11. Sire 3642
    12. Sire / Reprise / Rhino R2 77593
    Album Locator
    [+] Amazon
    [+] Amoeba
    [+] Discogs
    [+] Google
    [+] YouTube
    [+] Reverb.com

  Report Album

User Feedback

Create an account or sign in to leave a review

You need to be a member in order to leave a review

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

There are no reviews to display.